Shannon Fennell's Blog

My life, art, travel, make-up, cooking and the occasional rant!

Statues

2 Comments

Here is a photo of the statue I am creating for “The Shape of Things” currently running at Grande Prairie Live Theatre.   The opening scene is set in an art gallery and the statue is a required prop… they didn’t like the one they’d ordered so instead I get to paint one for them every night of the show’s run.  I love my job!

Statuefeb14-watermarked

 

I’m still trying to get the white to match the briefs (which are painted with craft acrylics).  I used the last of my Fardel cream white on the zebra I did last month and there are no North American suppliers of that brand – which, IMO, is the best coverage.  I’ve been using what I have on-hand.

It is taking less than an hour to do him.  I am hoping by the last night we’ll be finishing in less than 40 minutes.

Author: Shannon Fennell

Multidisciplinary artist, world traveller, make-up artist, and cheese lover. I follow a low carb lifestyle to keep my diabetes in remission. Canadian expat in the UK.

2 thoughts on “Statues

  1. couldn’t you use some face paint over the acrylic (on his shorts) to maybe dull out the white a bit? Maybe even use starblends?

    • I did paint over the briefs with the make-up… the solid opaqueness of the acrylic reflects light differently that the make-up covered skin. Starblends would be completely useless for this application. I need more Fardel cream white, that’s the solution. 😉

Leave a comment