Shannon Fennell's Blog

My life, art, travel, make-up, cooking and the occasional rant!


2 Comments

Candy is packaged!

This weekend I packaged up the candy ready to start gifting.

I have big tins to ship off to the sisters.  Had to really pack those in well with bubble wrap to help keep the contents from shifting too much.  Things get thrown around a lot during the shipping process.  I once received a box of baking that was just a box of fine crumbs; so I try to make sure that I’ve put cushioning in and packed any air pockets with something to absorb the impact shocks.

DSC02209

Now I need to find boxed to ship them in – I find cereal boxes are a great size and easy to cut down to fit tightly.

The rest is all packed up in bags.

DSC02208

I made some dried fruit and nut balls too, but they will be disbursed in a different manner – they can’t be packaged with the candy.

DSC02205

They are pretty tasty – just chopped nuts and dried fruit finely chopped in the food processor.  These contain: peanuts, almonds, pecans, cashews, hazelnuts, brazil nuts, prunes, dried apple, craisins, dried blueberries, raisins, pineapple, papaya, mango and then rolled in ground almonds.  Easy – equal parts of each: nuts and fruit; mix well, roll into one inch balls.  That’s it.

Due to the prune content… I wouldn’t recommend eating a bunch at once, but they are good!

I’ve got more to do – all the leftover scraps and nuts will be used and some cookies to bake.  Nice thing about cookies is that they freeze well!