Shannon Fennell's Blog

My life, cooking, make-up, travel, the joy of home ownership and the occasional rant!

I’ve discovered Copic Markers

Leave a comment

Over the last seven or so months I have rediscovered the fun and relaxation of just making art. Just for enjoyment, not for a specific project.  I hadn’t realized how much I’ve missed it.

I took a watercolour class last spring.  I always loved watercolour painting but it was one medium I’d never really tried.  I LOVE IT!  It is a fast painting method and easy set-up and clean-up.

I started doing Name Art in the summer and working with the felt pens and markers got me looking into what other tools were available. I discovered Copic Markers – wow. Expensive, but they are sure fun to work with.  The blending ability is amazing.  I really like the Multiliner marker – I’ve been sketching with it almost everyday and now need to go buy some ink refills.  Which is one of the features of the Copic Markers – refills.

I’ve kinda-sorta set myself a One-a-Day Art Challenge – but I am not strictly enforcing it as some days there just isn’t time.  However, using that Copic Multiliner marker helps me whip out some quick sketches.  Much faster than pencil for me as I can’t erase or do over – once the mark is on the paper, that’s it.

Here are some of the sketches I’ve done over the last week or so with the marker. I am posting all my daily art on my Facebook page Shannon Fennell Art – I’d love a Like if you check it out.

I took a kiln fused glass workshop yesterday and am very excited.  I want to take more workshops with glass. I only got two cuts and neither bled.  I made three plates – these are what they look like before firing.  Some of the colours are going to change in the kiln.  I get to see the finished plates on Thursday after they have been fired.

I signed up for a photography class that starts this week – I need to learn about my fancy camera that I’ve had for almost 4 years and only used once.

All in all I am really having a great time exploring different mediums and getting back into creating things just for my own pleasure.

Leave a Reply

