Shannon Fennell's Blog

My life, cooking, make-up, travel, the joy of home ownership and the occasional rant!

One year

Leave a comment

It has been a year of huge change for me – for the better.

It was one year ago today, December 22, that I was told I had Type 2 Diabetes.

I was left to figure out what to do by myself – my doctor prescribed Metformin and sent me off to the pharmacy to get that and the rest of the paraphernalia required.

In order to get my blood sugar under control I changed my diet. I immediately cut out sugar (which was not an issue at all for me.)  Then I had to deal with the carbs, ultimately discovering through trial and error that my system could not handle them.  So I made the change to Low Carb High Fat which enabled me to get my blood sugar numbers down.

As a side effect of the diet change I have lost over 70 pounds, so far .

I started going to Curves to improve my fitness level which helps with the diabetes control.

Unfortunately it was discovered my eyes had deteriorated due to Diabetic Retinopathy requiring injections into my eyeballs to clear up the bleeding.  As of this month my left eye has cleared up, requiring no further attention, but my right eye continues to need treatment.

I now have normal blood sugar levels – normal normal, not diabetic normal.

My blood pressure is also normal – I actually was 120/80 at my last doctor’s appointment.

I took a watercolour painting class and spend evenings painting for fun.  Watercolour is so much less effort than other mediums (for set-up and clean-up) and a relaxing activity.

I visited family in Toronto and got to see Niagara Falls…

dsc03031

…and go indoor skydiving!

20160920_010_9-2

Making inroads on the hypothetical bucket list – although I don’t think skydiving would have been on mine.

I am in a good spot with my health and keeping busy, finding new interests, doing different things and planning for next year’s adventures.  So overall it has been a positive year – even though events were triggered by bad news.

 

Leave a Reply

