Shannon Fennell's Blog

My life, cooking, make-up, travel, the joy of home ownership and the occasional rant!

Snowflakes

Leave a comment

I’ve gone a little snowflake crazy this winter (and by “winter” I mean Sept, Oct, Nov, Dec… and it will continue until probably April…)

I’ve always done snowflake designs in the winter – when you have snow on the ground, typically, six months of the year it is a common motif.

I’ve usually done them freehand which can be a bit time-consuming, or done the cheater type with just flicks of the brush so they are more of a six pointed star.  This year I got smart – with inspiration from a friend (well, more like completely copied her idea with her help, I might add) I made stamps for snowflakes.

The actual reason for this was Frozen.

All of those little girls wanting “Frozen” or “Elsa” designs… which in face painting circles means a blue base and white swirls and snowflakes.  I was booked, back-to-back, in October for Frozen themed birthday parties… the snowflake stamp saved my life.

DSC09837

And we will NEVER mention “Olaf” again…. EVER!

My crew loves the snowflake stamps too!

Using the stamps also guarantees all snowflakes are PROPER snowflakes with SIX arms… not eight, not four, not ten… SIX!  As shown here in this gorgeous photo a friend and local photographer, Marilyn Grubb, took and captioned:

Chipabirdee

I got stuck in the rut myself when painting myself for jobs – it is just so easy.  Just vary the base colour, change the layout…

dec2014blue

Dec2014purple

Dec2014rainbow

dec2014red

This is one of my winter masks with my “old” snowflakes – I’ve been doing it lots with the stamps instead.

wintermask

And I have several different snowflake shapes – I just have the one in my stash that I paint myself with – I should probably change it out for some variety.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

