Shannon Fennell's Blog

My life, cooking, make-up, travel, the joy of home ownership and the occasional rant!

Face Painting at the End of the World

Leave a comment

On December 21, 2012 I spent 5.5 hours painting at Spurs Cookhouse & Dance Hall for their End of the World Party. I painted staff then painted patrons (for a donation to the United Way).

I set-up on a small table with a minimal kit and one of my director’s chairs.  They found me  table lamp to work by.   The red pig is where the donations to the United Way were inserted.

WorkspaceSpurs

I tried out a Rayovac headlamp and love it!  Here I am modelling it…

Rayovac

It was very comfortable to wear – I forgot I was wearing it actually.  The light is bright and lit everything perfectly for painting.  And it adjusts so it can be aimed down to where I am looking so it doesn’t shine in the customer’s eyes.  A really useful tool if you are ever painting in the dark!

The following are some photos I took of some of the people I painted – as I managed to forget to pack a mirror, I took photos to show them what they looked like.  I think I may have finally figured out how to force myself to stop to take photos!  LOL

I generally matched clothing or costumes, unless specifically asked for something.

Spurs1

Spurs2

Spurs4

spurs5

spurs6

spurs7

Spurs8

Spurs9

Spurs10

spurs11

Spurs12

Spurs13

Spurs14

Spurs15

This next guy told me I could do anything I wanted… so I told him he was a Mayan Sacrifice:

Spurs3

It was a fun evening.  They even talked about having me back on a regular basis (which would be great.)

Leave a Reply

