Shannon Fennell's Blog

My life, cooking, make-up, travel, the joy of home ownership and the occasional rant!

Another year end looms

Leave a comment

Only five more sleeps left of 2011 and then it is 2012.  And if you subscribe to that theory about the Mayan calendar we’ve got less than a year left… so make the most of it!

(If you don’t know what I’m referring to check it here.)

I’m just taking a break from doing my bookkeeping.  Over the years I’ve perfected my system… I do a whole year’s worth of data entry in 2-3 days between Christmas and New Year.  I used to do my books every week – took a couple of hours every weekend to enter and file my receipts and pay bills.  Then one year I just kept adding things to the bin… until the year was almost over.  I sat down to do all of it at once and it only took a couple days to do it all in a blitz.

So I figured out that two hours a week average was 104 hours spent doing it opposed to spending 16 to 24 hours doing it all at once.  I spend an evening or two sorting out the paperwork (bills in chronological order so they are easy to key in), types of payments, bank statements, etc.

It goes pretty fast.  The most time-consuming part is entering all the individuals receipts from my Visa card… then I have to reconcile everything:  credit cards, bank statements, RSP statements.

It all gets done and then I just have to wait for my T4s and RSP receipts before I take it all to the accountant.

At this point I can say that 2011 was my best year to-date.  Haven’t got all the expenses input yet (had a few unexpected such as a new computer, back-up drive, printer) so not sure how it will be in the end, but total gross income is well up.

On Christmas Day I FINALLY got to watch some of the Dr. Who Christmas Specials!  All at once as they were running them in a marathon on Space starting at 6 p.m.  They don’t show them in the regular schedule so I’ve never seen them.  Started with this year’s “The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe” and then all of the David Tennant ones… I didn’t stay up for all of them but think I saw five or six.  Went to bed around 2 a.m. or so.

We had a nice dinner here – I cooked for 10 people.   Mom and I are now eating leftovers for lunch and dinner… breakfast we’re having our usual for a break.  I figure we have about another three days of turkey and fixin’s to finish off.

My secret to an awesome turkey dinner?  Butterball pre-stuffed frozen turkey!  Tender, juicy, stuffing is delicious (just like mom and I USED to make, but now I don’t have to… and no one ever realized I stopped making it!)

And last night I… read a book!  Last one I had a chance to read was back in July.  Mom wanted to go to bed early and since I am off this week it was okay (if she goes to bed early she starts waking me up around 3 a.m. to use the commode… repeatedly so I won’t let her go to bed until 9 on work nights.)  So I had a chance to read.  It was really nice.  Managed to finish off one nice thick paranormal romance in a couple of hours.  And I might read another one tonight!  I have a stack of them I haven’t got around to reading yet.

My next gig is theatre – Snow White.  Dress rehearsals are the second week of January and then a three-week run.

Right now we’re watching that true classic of the season…. JAWS.

Leave a Reply

