Shannon Fennell's Blog

My life, cooking, make-up, travel, the joy of home ownership and the occasional rant!

Christmas shows to get me in the mood

Leave a comment

So Christmas Day is in a week… at this time in seven days it will be all over, the guests will have left and the dishwasher will be running and I’ll be sitting here relaxing as I mess around on my computer.

Right now I’m watching National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation… Clark just got the notice of the Jam of the month club and is spewing out his tirade… I love this movie.

I get annoyed though, about movies.  There are so many great Christmas movies that we just don’t see every year… we can’t locate them on the schedule some years at all.  And some of the Christmas TV specials too seem to disappear.

My favourites, in no particular order are:

A Christmas Carol (1951 starring Alastair Sim, in the original black and white.  Mom prefers the colourized version.)

It’s a Wonderful Life (Why isn’t Mr. Potter one of the top all time villans???)

The Bishop’s Wife (Cary Grant, David Niven and Loretta Young… What’s not to love ?)

A Christmas Story (you’ll shoot your eye out kid)

We’re No Angels (Humphrey Bogart, Peter Ustinov, Aldo Ray and Adolf the viper)

Die Hard (oh, the weather outside is frightful… terrorists and Christmas?  What could be more festive?)

Ernest Saves Christmas (THE best Ernest movie, ever.)

Scrooged (“That bitch hit me with a toaster”… how much more Christmassy does it get??)

How the Grinch Stole Christmas (the original 1966 animated version)

A Charlie Brown Christmas (the tree is a classic)

Bump-In-The-Night, T’was the Night Before Bumpy (a claymation series that aired on YTV in the 90s… it had Rolling Santas of Doom!!!  I really enjoyed it but only saw it once.)

There are more but those are the ones that pop into mind most of the time.

Last night was my (day-job) company party – mom and I went.  It was held one the staff’s home – there were eight of us so it was a nice size for a house party.  We played games, did a gift exchange and had Christmas dinner – we all made dishes (I took potatoes).  We didn’t get home until about 2:30 a.m. this morning…   Had a great time, won the trivia game, our team won Christmas Cranium, I tied for the “what’s in the stocking” game but lost on tie breaker.

I also had my last Christmas gig yesterday.  Out in the rural area at a rustic homestead.  There were sleigh rides and I was inside this old cabin with only a wood stove for heat.  Painted maybe a dozen or so.  And was paid in cash and one bill was one of those new plastic $100 bills… very cool.  It is transparent in parts and shiny.  First one I’ve seen in person.

Once I got up today … around 10, then I sat down to turn on the TV and dozed off again until mom called me at almost 11 a.m… I got some more candy made and two different kinds of cookies… Did pecan brittle, almond brittle, oatmeal raisin cookies and church window cookies.

Ran out of corn syrup and raisins.  So a run to the grocery store at lunch tomorrow so I can finish.  Have to get stuff on the bus by Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

