Shannon Fennell's Blog

My life, cooking, make-up, travel, the joy of home ownership and the occasional rant!

In Remembrance

Leave a comment

My Grandfather, Lionel Everard Fennell, died in Italy in the Second World War.  He is buried in the Commonwealth War Cemetary in Salerno, Italy.

He was a Staff Sergeant in the Canadian Army.  He was 33 years old.  He left a wife and two small sons back home in Vancouver, BC.

I also served.  I was in the Canadian Armed Forces, 12 (Vancouver) Service Battalion in the late 1970s.  I was in a peace time army and only served in Canada with forays into the USA for training/war games.

On general military training – I’m dead centre (thinnest I ever was)

I’m the one with Rosanne Roseannadana’s hair

Being presented a commendation for something… it was a long time ago, I don’t remember what for.

I feel close to my grandfather although we never met… he died 17 years before I was born.  But I like to think the fact that we both served our countries ties us together.

Leave a Reply

