Shannon Fennell's Blog

My life, cooking, make-up, travel, the joy of home ownership and the occasional rant!

My other art

Leave a comment

Haven’t had much in the way of face painting photos lately (I don’t take my camera on the job as I’m afraid of losing or damaging it) so I thought I’d show you some of my other art.

I haven’t actually done too much lately…

Me, Mom, LD and Neil watching the Leonides Meteor Shower

In  November 2001 we had a spectacular appearance of the Leonides Meteor Shower.  We all got up at 2 a.m. dressed for -34C and went out into the backyard to watch meteors fall through the Aurora Borealis!  Mom was sitting on a milk crate with LD bundled up inside her jacket.  The orange flames are the flares on oil rigs.

Mission San Juan Capistrano

In 1989 we won a trip to Disneyland from a radio station.  We went down to Anaheim for a week and took several day trips/tours.  One day we booked a tour down to San Diego to the Zoo/Sea World.  The rest stop on the trip down was at Mission San Juan Capistrano which thrilled mom to bits as she’d always heard about the swallows returning to San Juan Capistrano.  The fact that we had no idea we were stopping there added to the thrill.   I took lots of photos and painted this from one I took of the old fountain.

Scarlett Macaw

This painting started off as an art class oil painting, it actually didn’t get finished for years… I hadn’t finished the head… Neil (my late brother) would harass me about the blind parrot so eventually I got out my acrylics and finished it.  Then when I went to get it framed they had this awesome bamboo frame stock!!  Reminded me of the Tiki Room at Disneyland and was perfect for a parrot!

Bunny and Val (half-sisters)

These are pencil and ink drawings I did in 1983 of two of our foals – the one on the left is Bar F Major Breakthru aka “Bunny” because of her ears, and the one on the right is Bar F Denmark’s Valentine (she was born… oh go ahead and guess!!) aka “Val”.  Their sire was our stallion “Barney” and both moms were American Saddlebreds.  Bunny’s mom was named Lucky R Supreme Majorette aka “Major,” and Val’s was named Denmark Top Choice aka “Denny” (yeah, I know her name sounds like dog food but on the registration papers it gets really messy!)

So that’s just some of the other stuff I have done.  Don’t get a lot of time anymore to spend on creating things for just my personal satisfaction, now it is for specific themes and purposes.

Leave a Reply

