31
Dec
13

Enough already

So… it is official… Grande Prairie has received 178 centimeters of snow since November 1st.  That is 5.84 feet for those who aren’t sure what a centimeter looks like.

This chart shows that 2013 had the most snow since 1988 Historical Snow Data.

Here is my driveway on Dec 13th

20131213Snow

This is my driveway today, Dec 31st

20131231Snow

We had a warm spell over Christmas and the snow on the roof melted off a lot, so it isn’t the total depth we’ve had.  However, the shoveling is getting impossible as the side are so high.  The roads are almost impassable.

Mom’s aide’s husband and two boys shoveled the driveway and sidewalk on Sunday AND Monday… here is a photo… the one to the far right is standing on TOP of the bank to shovel it off to make it possible to continue tossing snow up there.

DSC08961

I’ve been off over the holidays and have to go back to work on Thursday… I really hope the roads are better… (I can hear the laughter from the locals.  Hey, it COULD happen, right?)

This SUV is stuck at the foot of my driveway this afternoon… people were just stopping to help him get unstuck.  There were about four trucks out there out of the frame who stopped to help.

photo 2

On another note… I mentioned in my previous post that I’d received my car insurance renewal notice and it was over $300 more than last year.  So I called the broker where we have our house insurance to get a quote.  She called back – the quote is $509 LESS (same underwriter as our homeowners’ insurance.)  Guess I’m changing policies.  I did call to see if my current insurer would match – they wouldn’t.

1 Response to “Enough already”


  1. December 31, 2013 at 18:04

    wow on the snow and yay on the insurance. blessing in disguise.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,560 other followers

December 2013
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Shannon’s Archives

Shannon's Stats

  • 140,840 hits

about.me

Shannon Fennell

Shannon Fennell

International Award Winnning Make-Up Artist, Face & Body Painter

I am a professional make-up artist with credits in film, television, theatre and editorial.  My face painting book YOUR FACE OR MINE was published in 2007 by Snazaroo USA Inc. is widely available worldwide and I offer a multitude of make-up related services and retail instructional products for face painters.

Some of my awards include 2005 International Face Painter of the Year, 2006 Winner of Fantasy Worldwide Face Painting Contest in Putte, Belgium, Second Place at the 2007 US Body Painting Festival, as well as over 50 other awards and prizes. 

I love creative projects and can do everything from wedding make-up to custom SFX appliances, large scale international sporting events to individual appointments at Halloween, birthday parties to trade shows.  No job too big or too small.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,560 other followers

